Strikezone Label 8810 – [PURCHASE]

1. African Skies, Linear Lives 5:51
2. Truth Waltzed In 8:07
3. Interlude 1:32
4. Ananda 7:49
5. Nights Beyond, India 6:39
6. Two Faces 7:01
7. For Now 6:32
8. Secret Procession I 10:44
9. Secret Procession II 1:55
10. Not Gone, Not Forgotten 3:01
11. African Skies, Drumming Lives:
Boubacar’s Son’s 8:59
12. In’s Weltenall 1, Into the Sky 6:02
13. In’s Weltenall 2, Endless Stars 3:39

All compositions by Christian Finger,
Finger Music Productions LLC,
Musicians: Christian Finger-drums, Jeff Ballard-drums, Vadim Neselovskyi-piano, Dave Stryker-guitar, Zach Brock-violin,
Pete McCann-guitar, Adam Armstrong-bass & Mivos String Quartet

The concept of jazz as process, as a means of collective creation rather than a set of specific rhythms or riffs,
keeps gaining traction in the 21st Century, and musicians such as Christian Finger are a major reason why.
Finger was born in Germany; has lived in the Netherlands, Australia and the USA; visited over a dozen other countries and imagined other locales where his curiosity has taken him: the result is an joyous, expansive and epic audio travelogue.
Famous Jazz author Bob Blumenthal writes about “Ananda”:
“It takes an exceptional composer, leader and percussionist to conceive a program of such ambition and scope, much less to make it work. Christian Finger is all three in one person, and Ananda marks him as an exceptional and exemplary contemporary musician.”

“I’ve been to about 18 countries in total,” Finger explains, “and wanted to reflect this in the music. Learning about and listening to the music of other places I’ve yet to visit inspired me to also include them as what at present are `imaginary’ places for me. The music is a journey, a document of the atmosphere and feel of life I experienced, a remembrance, and an indication that we are not alone. `Ananda’ is Sanskrit for `the world is bliss,’ which is what I wanted the music to convey.”

Finger sees his music as “combining the American jazz tradition with a European sensibility,” a synthesis he effectuates through the clarity of his writing, the wisdom he displays in selecting collaborators, and a sixth sense for pacing that allows electric guitars, a string quartet and African-inspired percussion to ebb and flow throughout the program.”

-See Press for great reviews


Merge Into Beauty
(Finger Music Productions) [PURCHASE]

1. Nu Drance
2. End Of An Era (For Elvin Jones)
3. String Interlude I
4. Halfway Till Dawn (For Billy Strayhorn)
5. Alone In Cologne
6. String Interlude II
7. Heartsong
8. You Make Nice Noise
9. Halfway Till Dawn II
10. String Interlude III (My Little Prayer)
11. My Little Prayer
12. Falling In Love with Love
13. The Peacocks
Total time 59.00

Musicians: Christian Finger-drums, Rich Perry-tenor saxophone, Vadim Neselovskyi-piano, Adam Armstrong-bass, Tom Chang-guitar,
Momenta String Quartet

Sophisticated, melodic Jazz performed by an outstanding international group of New York’s finest musicians, joined by a stellar String Quartet – combining jazz, classical, pop, and turning it into an exceptional sound of its own.

See what leading jazz magazines/musicians have to say:

“…a top shelf production of Finger’s international band…,spellbinding solos and potent interaction…, draws from many influences though his mix sounds much like a suite, Finger’s compositions have hooks that immediately grab the listener…”
Ken Dryden, “All About Jazz” May 2007

“Christian Finger’s Merge Into Beauty is a work of great compositional depth and emotion… This album, the follow up to his Balance recording that features Lee Konitz, uses a wide harmonic palette and a large array of musical colors and shades to create a mood that is unique and captivating…you are sure to enjoy basking in Finger’s gorgeous music…a breath taking stunningly beautiful album.”
Dan Bilaski, “Jazz Improv Magazine” June 2007

„Great CD and playing, commitment to the moment. Congratulations! “
Jeff Ballard

“On Merge Into Beauty, the drummer leads his agile band with the kind of percussion first tunes that makes all the action seemed supercharged… a compositional sense that integrates third stream influences inspire to overwhelm.”
Jim Macnie, “Village Voice” May 2007

“Editor’s Pick”
CD Baby

“Taking the reigns… very tasteful drumming here..”
“Modern Drummer Magazine”

The CD Merge Into Beauty, recorded in NYC, features superior sound quality with musicians who have worked with famous artists such as Lee Konitz , Dave Kikovski (Christian), Gary Burton (Vadim), Vanguard Jazz Orchestra, Maria Schneider, Richard Beirach (Rich), Kenny Kirkland (Adam), Greg Osby, The Supremes (Tom), among many others.
The Momenta String Quartet is one of the finest ensembles for performing contemporary music in the USA.


(Finger Music Productions)
Purchase requests through email.

1. Rainy Waltz
2. If I Should Lose You
4. Lennies
5. A Dark Mission
6. Evidence
7. Way Of M.
8. Alone In Cologne
9. My One And Only Love
10. A Portrait Of Jenny
11. Joanna’s Waltz
Total time 57.24

Featuring living jazz legend Lee Konitz on alto and soprano sax, John Goldsby on bass, Christian Finger on drums/composition and Frank Wunsch on piano, the CD was very well received by the jazz world.
The CD was recorded at Topaz Studios by Reinhardt Kobialka in Cologne/Germany in October 2000.


Christian Finger The Drum Work Book
Purchase requests through email.

Tried and true grooves, techniques, breaks, solos and lot of other ideas, bringing together fifteen years of teaching experience. Level Beginner-Advanced

© 2019 // All Rights Reserved. //